Back to All News

Perth Freight Link environmental breaches snap inquiry

Media Release
Scott Ludlam 22 Feb 2017

The snap senate inquiry into the continuation of construction of the Perth Freight Link in the face of significant environmental breaches will hold a public hearing tomorrow.

Australian Greens Co-Deputy Leader and Senator for Western Australia Scott Ludlam will hold a press conference during the lunch break at 12:45pm.

Senator Ludlam will also be available for comment at the conclusion of the hearings.

“This hearing is an opportunity for Senators to hear from community groups and other observers on the ground that have witnessed first-hand dozens of breaches of the environmental conditions this project was supposed to adhere to.

“But it’s disappointing that once again the state government is not fronting up to defend their nonsensical project. They deliver empty platitudes about best-practice environmental protections, but refuse to subject themselves to any scrutiny. They’ve surrendered their right of reply. We can only assume they have no answer to the community groups recording these failures.

WHO: Australian Greens Deputy Leader Senator Scott Ludlam
Community groups and witnesses called to give evidence to the inquiry may also be available for comment.

WHERE: the Orelia Room, Mercure Hotel, 10 Irwin Street, Perth

WHEN: 12:45pm Thursday February 23rd

The full list of witnesses appearing before the inquiry is below:



11.30 am

Coolbellup Concerned Residents

Ms Alison Wright


Mr Bob Bryant


Rethink the Link Campaign

Ms Kim Dravnieks


Save Beeliar Wetlands

Ms Kate Kelly


Wetlands Watchers

Ms Phoebe Corke, Coordinator Mr Andrew Joske

12.30 pm


1.15 pm

City of Cockburn

Cr Logan Howlett, Mayor


City of Fremantle

Dr Brad Pettitt, Mayor

1.45 pm

Department of the Environment and Energy

Mr Dean Knudson, Deputy Secretary, Environment Protection Group

Mr Matt Cahill, First Assistant Secretary, Environment Standards Division Ms Monica Collins, Assistant Secretary, Compliance and Enforcement

Mr Bruce Edwards, Assistant Secretary, Assessments (WA, SA, NT) and Air Branch Mr Simon Writer, General Counsel (by teleconference)

Mr Alex Taylor, Acting Director, Monitoring Assurance Section, Environment Standards Division (by teleconference)

2.45 pm


2.55 pm

Cockburn Wetlands Education Centre

Ms Denise Crosbie


Native Arc

Mr Bob Dunn
Ms Diane Munrowd
Mr Dean Huxley

3.35 pm

Professor John Bailey (via teleconference)

Dr Hugh Finn

Professor Richard Hobbs

4.20 pm

To be confirmed

5.00 pm


Back to All News