Back to All News

Motion: Councils Declare Climate Emergencies

Mehreen Faruqi 16 Oct 2019

I move:

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) 61 local councils, representing almost 6 million Australians, have declared a climate emergency, and

(ii) these local councils represent a wide range of regional, suburban and major city areas in every state and territory in Australia, including Canterbury-Bankstown City Council in New South Wales, Ballarat City Council in Victoria, Launceston City Council in Tasmania, Port Lincoln City Council in South Australia and Denmark Shire Council in Western Australia; and

(b) congratulates these local councils for declaring a climate emergency.

Question agreed to.


Back to All News